Sony PRS-650 Touch Edition eBook Reader Review — The Gadgeteer

Sony PRS-650 Touch Edition eBook Reader Review

by Janet Cloninger on September 28, 2010 · 0 comments

in Featured Items,Reviews,eBook Readers and Gear

It’s September, and that means updated readers from Sony!  I’ve been a devoted fan of the PRS readers since 2006 – first the PRS-500, then PRS-505, and the PRS-600 last year.  I’ve loved my Sonys and spent thousands of hours reading on them over the years.  Unfortunately, the PRS-600, while beautiful, eventually fell out of favor with me.  The touchscreen layer made the reader reflective and glare-y, and it also made the text on the screen lighter and a bit harder to read than on the previous PRS-505.  I admit that I eventually began reading exclusively on my iPad.  The iPad screen was beautiful and it never caused eyestrain for me, but all its other fabulous functions seemed to tempt me away from reading.  I haven’t been reading much at all for the past few weeks.   When the new Sony readers were announced, I was excited to hear the old resistive touchscreen layer had been replaced with a new method – neither capacitive nor resistive

About rayrr

10 years as a NetWork Administrator in the Virginia Beach, Virginia Area. 11 years in the San Diego, California area. Went back to Manila Philippines to relax and rest away from the rat race. View all posts by rayrr

Leave a Reply

